Call for Papers

The 5th Annual
Digital Forensic Research Workshop
(DFRWS 2005)

August 17-19, 2005
Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel
New Orleans, LA

The purpose of this workshop is to bring together researchers, practitioners, and educators interested in digital forensics. We welcome the participation of people in industry, government, law enforcement, and academia who are interested in advancing the state of the art in digital forensics by sharing their results, knowledge, and experiences.

Topics of Interest

We are looking for research papers, demo proposals, and panel proposals. Major areas of interest include, but are not limited to, the following topics:

Important Dates

Papers, demo, and panels submission deadline:

June 1, 2005

Author notification:

July 1, 2005

Camera-ready copies due:

August 1, 2005

Workshop dates:

August 17-19, 2005


Papers must be written in English, and should not be longer than 10 single spaced, double column pages. Authors are encouraged to illustrate the applicability of their work to practical issues. Papers must not significantly duplicate work that has been presented or published elsewhere.

Panel proposals should be one to three pages and clearly describe the topic, its relevance and a list of potential panelists, including brief biographies of the participants.

Proposals for demonstrations of proof of concept and research-based tools are welcome. Proposals should describe the tool, its relevance to one of the topics listed above, and space/equipment needs (e.g., power, networking, etc.)

Paper submissions must be in PDF format. Panel and demo proposals can be in either plain text or PDF. Authors must use electronic submission. To submit your work to the DFRWS for review please select this link and follow the instructions posted there:

2005 DFRWS Paper Submission at UNO

Organizing Committee and Program Committee

Frank Adelstein (ATC-NY)
Brian Carrier (Purdue University)
Eoghan Casey (Stroz Friedberg LLC)
Dan Kalil (Air Force Research Lab, Assured Information Security)
Chet Maciag (Air Force Research Lab)
Gary Palmer (The MITRE Corporation)
Daryl Pfeif (Digital Forensics Solutions)
Golden G. Richard, III (University of New Orleans)
Vassil Roussev (University of New Orleans)

Tom Bacon (Southern Oregon University)
David Baker (The MITRE Corporation)
Nicole Beebe (University of Texas at San Antonio)
R. Chandramouli (Stevens Institute of Technology)
Phil Craiger (University of Central Florida/National Center for Forensic Science)
Dave Dittrich (University of Washington)
Heather Dussault (SUNY IT)
Dario Forte (University of Milano, Italy)
Yun Gao (University of New Orleans)
Warren Harrison (Portland State University)
Chet Hosmer (Wetstone Technology)
Erin Keanneally (San Diego Supercomputer Center)
Jesse Kornblum (ManTech CFIA)
Michael Losavio (University of Louisville)
James Lyle (NIST)
Nasir Memon (Polytechnic University)
Srinivas Mukkamala (New Mexico Tech)
Gilbert Peterson (Air Force Institute of Technology)
Marc Rogers (Purdue University)
Kulesh Shanmugasundaram (Polytechnic University)
Todd Shippley (SEARCH)
Peter Sommer (London School of Economics, UK)
Chris Stippich (Digital Intelligence, Inc)
Steve Romig (The Ohio State University)
K.P. Subbalakshmi (Stevens Institute of Technology)
Olivier DeVel (Defense Sci. and Tech. Organisation (DSTO), Australia)
Duminda Wijesekera (George Mason University)